The teachers who inspired us, and even changed the trajectories of our lives

aehealy2:

PLN 8
This blog post begins by talking about Rita Pierson, a lady who is inspirational and discusses how to be a successful teacher in a video by TED. One way that she said you should teach your students is by making personal connections with them. I agree with this statement 100%, mostly because of personal experiences. I can look back to my educational history and pick out the classes in which I learned the most, and something that all of these teachers have in common is that they got to know me on a personal level and make connections with me. Some teachers feel as if it is a 9-3 job and then they are free to do what ever they want, not bringing work home with them. This is not the case especially if you have the desire to be a powerful teacher. In order to allow your students to make you feel as if you care about them and want to see them succeed, it is essential that you get to know them inside and outside of school, care about their interests, and show that you have things in common.
Rita also inspired her students and gave them the hope that they needed inorder to succeed in school. The saying that she gave them to repeat was “I am somebody. I was somebody when I came and I’ll be a better somebody when I leave. I am powerful and I am strong. I deserve the education that I get here’ … You say it long enough, it starts to be a part of you.” If this saying is coming from your teacher and you are repeating it over and over again, it is human instinct to begin to believe what you are repeating. In order to be successful in school, not only your teacher can have fait in you, you must have it in yourself, and this is a very good way to begin to install this faith and want to do well into your students.
Another good part about this blog post is that it allows you the opportunity to see what the qualities are that many different people found in their favorite teacher. This is a great resource to look back on when I become a teacher because I can see what it is that students appreciate and respond positively to.

Originally posted on TED Blog:

Rita-Pierson-at-TED-Talks-Education

Rita Pierson leads off TED Talks Education, our first televised event, which will air on PBS on May 7. Photo: Ryan Lash

Rita Pierson is the kind of teacher you wish you had. An educator for 40 years, she is funny, sharp and simply has a way with words — so much so that today’s talk feels a bit like a sermon.

[ted_talkteaser id=1728]In this talk, Pierson shares the secret to teaching students, especially those from disadvantaged backgrounds — make personal connections with them.

“I have had classes so low, so academically deficient that I cried. I wondered, ‘How am I going to take this group in nine months from where they are to where they need to be?” says Pierson, in this amazing talk. “I came up with a bright idea … I gave them a saying: ‘I am somebody. I was somebody when I came and I’ll…

View original 2,677 more words

Leave a Reply

